The RADAR method is a straightforward and easy-to-remember method for evaluating sources. It emphasizes the importance of relevance, authority, date, accuracy, and reasoning in determining the credibility of information.
RADAR stands for the following criteria:
Relevance: How relevant is the information to your research question or topic?
Authority: Who is the author or publisher? What are their credentials and qualifications?
Date: When was the information published or last updated?
Accuracy: Is the information accurate and supported by evidence?
Reasoning: What is the purpose of the information? Is it biased or objective?
| Popular | Scholarly | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| What is a popular source? news, magazines, blogs/feeds |
What is a scholarly source? an article written by a professional in the field |
What is a scholarly source? encyclopedia, dictionary, fact book, biographical |
| Examples: NY Times, Rolling Stone, Reddit |
Examples: Journal of American Dental Association |
Examples: Wikipedia, Britannica, Credo |
| Best Library Resource: ProQuest Newsstand, Opposing Viewpoints in Context |
Best Library Resource: NC LIVE, ProQuest Central |
Best Library Resource: Credo Reference Database, Oxford English Dictionary |
| Primary | Secondary | Tertiary |
|---|---|---|
| A primary source is the original item produced during that time. | A secondary source is considered the commentary on an event, place, person or thing. | A tertiary source is a reference source that includes background or basic information such as: who, what, where, when |
| Examples: Letters, Photographs, Speeches, Documents, Diaries, Artifacts, Maps, Newspapers |
Examples: Articles, Essays, Textbooks, Criticisms |
Examples: Encyclopedias, Almanacs, Timelines, Bibliographies, Directories, Fact books, etc. (Note: Many of these are also considered secondary sources.) |
| Best Library Resource: Museum websites, University archives |
Best Library Resource: NC LIVE, Specific databases depending on the topic |
Best Library Resource: Credo Reference, Britannica Encyclopedia, Oxford English Dictionary, Reference books in the library, Biography Databases |