Leigh and John McNairy Library: Psychology: More Psychology Information

Government Resources

Tests and Measures

ETS RESEARCHER
ETS RESEARCHER is a database that contains information on ETS-authored or published works, such as ETS Research Reports, ETS Research Memorandums, or publications written by ETS researchers and published by third parties, such as scholarly journals.
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Communication Research Measures
This compilation consists of measures that have been developed by researchers at West Virginia University. They may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission.
How to cite Mental Measurements Yearbooks and Test Reviews
PDF explaining how to cite tests and reviews from Mental Measurements Yearbooks and Test Reviews
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences

Careers in Psychology

Careers in psychology
Links to several guides to careers in psychology, from the American Psychological Association.
Online Psychology Career Center
Part of the Social Psychology Network, this site is designed to be a one-stop resource for psychology students and professionals.
PsycCareers
APA's online career center.
Division Benefits to Graduate Students
How the various APA divisions can help graduate students.
Online Psychology Degrees.com
Online directory of psychology degree and certificate programs. Also includes interviews with experienced professionals in a variety of mental health fields, and advice about the various specialties available.
Occuplational Outlook Handbook - Psychologists
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, current and future outlook for employment on psychological careers.

Organizations and Associations

North Carolina Psychological Association
North Carolina Psychological Association advocates for psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting human welfare. NCPA provides an organized voice for psychology and promotes high standards for the profession.
American Psychological Association
Based in Washington, DC, the APA is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association is a medical specialty society with over 38,000 member physicians working to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.
Association for Psychological Science
Founded in 1988, the Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level.
Cognitive Science Society
The Cognitive Science Society brings together researchers from many fields, including cognitive science, artificial intelligence, linguistics, anthropology, psychology, neuroscience, philosophy, and education, who seek to understand the nature of the human mind.
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of the NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure. Check out their Science News section.
Social Psychology Network
Founded by Dr. Scott Plous in 1996, the Social Psychology Network seeks to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology.